The school is governed by the Board of Trustees who is charged to hold in trust the integrity of the school and to uphold its mission, goals, and objectives. The Board is also charged to employ the Head of School who has the authority for overall operations of the school.

The Board of Trustees is composed of 9 elected voting members. Members are elected by the Trustees on a rotating basis, for three-year terms. The Rector and the Vicar are non-elected ex-officio members and an additional non-voting member of the Vestry of Saint Michael and All Angels Church is selected for a one-year term.

All meetings of the Board are closed and attendance is limited to elected Board members, ex-officio members, and appointed and invited administrative support staff. Meetings are held approximately four times per year beginning in September. Dates of the meetings can be found on the school calendar.

The Board of Trustees’ scope is strategic. Its responsibilities include upholding and promoting the mission of Saint Michael Episcopal School as well as holding fiduciary responsibility for SMES long term. Key areas of Board activity include:

  • Planning – Development and monitoring of Saint Michael Episcopal School’s strategic plan, with approval of all objectives and strategies.
  • Policy – Formulating and review of policies affecting school life.
  • Audit – An independent auditor is contracted with and performs an audit yearly; the Independent Auditor’s Report is presented to and reviewed by the full Board of Trustees.
  • Development – Approval and monitoring of the comprehensive development plan (i.e., capital campaign, marketing, public relations)

Board members represent present and future generations, not specific constituencies. The Board is comprised of parishioners, non-parishioners, current parents, past parents, and members from outside the Saint Michael community.


Members of the Board of Trustees

Grady Schleier, President

Chris Winn, Treasurer

Sandra Snyder, Secretary

The Rev. Dr. Chris Girata, Rector

Dr. Matthew Housson

Dr. Regina (Reggie) McFarland

Dr. Claude Prestidge

Nancy Somodevilla

Ali Treaster

Eve Wiley


Ex Officio Members:

Jane Greene, Vestry Representative

Katie Riley, Executive Director